fokisip.blogg.se

Hasten down the wind meaning
Hasten down the wind meaning












hasten down the wind meaning hasten down the wind meaning

The Knight says the Fool has been pretty sad ever since Cordelia left. KNIGHT Since my young lady’s going into France, sir, He thought it was his imagination at first, but now that the Knight mentions it, it does seem like people have been giving him the cold shoulder lately. My Fool? I have not seen him this two days. Which I have rather blamed as mine own jealousĬuriosity than as a very pretense and purpose of 70 I have perceived a most faint neglect of late, LEAR Thou but remembrest me of mine own conception. The knight says he thinks they're being pretty disrespectful of Lear. The insolence! He sends a knight after Oswald, but the only report he gets back is that Oswald wouldn't come and Goneril won't speak with him because she doesn't feel well. The King abruptly calls Oswald back, but Oswald ignores him. Mistaken, for my duty cannot be silent when I think 65 KNIGHT I beseech you pardon me, my lord, if I be Well in the general dependents as in the Duke There’s a great abatement of kindness appears as 60 With that ceremonious affection as you were wont. My judgment your Highness is not entertained KNIGHT My lord, I know not what the matter is, but to KNIGHT Sir, he answered me in the roundest manner, LEAR Why came not the slave back to me when I KNIGHT He says, my lord, your daughter is not well. LEAR What says the fellow there? Call the clotpoleīack. Kent/Caius convinces Lear with a bit of banter that he's a good guy and should be allowed to join Lear's entourage, and Lear sends Oswald, Goneril's steward, to go find his daughter. You, you, sirrah, where’s my daughter? 45 Yet.-Dinner, ho, dinner!-Where’s my knave, my KENT Not so young, sir, to love a woman for singing, That which ordinary men are fit for I 35Īm qualified in, and the best of me is diligence. KENT I can keep honest counsel, ride, run, mar aĬurious tale in telling it, and deliver a plain messageīluntly. KENT No, sir, but you have that in your countenance LEAR If thou be’st as poor for a subject as he’s for a KENT A very honest-hearted fellow, and as poor as the 20 Little, to fear judgment, to fight when I cannot Is honest, to converse with him that is wise and says Him truly that will put me in trust, to love him that 15 KENT I do profess to be no less than I seem, to serve LEAR What dost thou profess? What wouldst thou with He sees Kent (a.k.a., Caius) and asks him who he is. (Gee, we have no idea why Goneril's been complaining about her father. Lear enters with his rowdy entourage and orders one of his attendants to hurry up and fix his dinner. Kent lives to take care of Lear, and he's determined to do it even if Lear has treated him terribly. Kent, the loyal advisor Lear exiled back in Scene 1, enters Goneril's castle disguised as a down-and-out peasant, "Caius." He speaks in a strange accent so no one recognizes his voice. So may it come thy master, whom thou lov’st, If thou canst serve where thou dost stand 5

HASTEN DOWN THE WIND MEANING FULL

May carry through itself to that full issueįor which I razed my likeness. That can my speech diffuse, my good intent














Hasten down the wind meaning